Welch – Dickey Mountains – 52WAV

February 3, 2021. 4.3 mile loop on Welch-Dickey Loop Trail.

This hike was more challenging than I thought it would be given its popularity. Lots of snow fell from the sky the previous night and my goal was to be the first to hike it so that I could enjoy the fresh powder of an unbroken trail. It worked! The trail was well packed snow initially but up on the ledges the snow was deep powder; quite a workout. I found it difficult to stay on the “trail” at the peaks due to the mile or more of ledge; blazes are painted on rock and covered with snow! This can be a little frightening and exciting when hiking solo. I found myself following the paw prints of an animal (tbd) as they often follow human-made paths. I relied heavily on GPS on my phone to keep myself on track. Thoroughly enjoyable hike.

About bethsrecipes

my recipes
This entry was posted in Peak Bagging the White Mountains, New Hampshire. Bookmark the permalink.