Mount Tremont – 52WAV

January 28, 2021. 5.3 miles out and back on Mount Tremont Trail.

My hike started with a parking disaster; the Rte 302 shoulder “parking area” was effectively a spruce trap; the white, flat, smooth area was just snow and below that a ditch where I landed my right 2 car wheels (picture below). I was stuck. But true to northern New England old-school helpfulness, two older guys in their truck turned around, hooked my car up to their truck and pulled me out of the ditch. This brought tears to my eyes throughout my hike because, right now, our country seems at war with itself with so much anger and hatred. Which ever side of the political aisle these guys are on they have not let it affect their willingness to help someone in need.

Like every hike I’ve been on these last couple weeks, the trail started out with little snow; microspikes were adequate for safe walking. But snow depth increased with elevation and I opted to wear my snowshoes. There were plenty of post holes along the trail possibly repaired by my walking on top of them. Lots of powder at the peak. Nice thing about snowshoes is the heel lift making the last steep section of this trail much easier.

About bethsrecipes

my recipes
This entry was posted in Peak Bagging the White Mountains, New Hampshire. Bookmark the permalink.