Seasoning Cast Iron Pan

I’m writing this so I don’t have to look it up again … now I just need to remember it’s here!

Preheat oven to 200F. Thoroughly clean pan if it’s new or old and dirty and towel dry. Place pan in 200F oven for 10 minutes to evaporate any remaining water from cleaning.

Remove the pan and increase the oven temperature to 300F. Spread a thin layer of canola oil** inside and outside the pan, including the handle, wiping up any residue.

Place the pan upside down in the center of the 300F oven (put aluminum foil on oven bottom to catch drips in case there is too much oil; ideally there wouldn’t be). After 10 minutes remove the pan, place on the stove top and wipe off any accrued oil on the surface. Return to the oven, upside down.

Increase the oven temperature to 400F. After 1 hour at 400F turn the oven off. Do not open the oven until the oven (and pan) have returned to room temperature; the next day is fine!

I found I needed to repeat this a couple of times with a new pan.

**Canola Oil approximate smoke point is 455F

About bethsrecipes

my recipes
This entry was posted in Beth's Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.