Top Notch Triathlon – August 2, 2014

I was committed to racing easier this year and I really DID go easier since my main goal this summer is the Mount Washington Hill Climb race. The Top Notch Triathlon was training for biking up the Rock Pile so I surprised myself by coming in second female overall. I’m only grateful I was not first – truly. I would have felt like some sort of mutant. As it was the woman who came in first for all women was 23 years old; 30 years younger than I am. Thank you Alexandra!

The conditions were tough: very muddy mountain bike section where I ran past people trying to ride through the mud; cold, choppy swim – I chose to wear a wet suit top which is a big time killer (especially when I put it on backwards the first time) but glad I did; hike/run up Cannon had one LONG section of hay – try walking/hiking/running fast in deep, wet hay! It ain’t happening. But all this adds to the thrill of the Top Notch Triathlon. It isn’t your normal Tri!

white mountains hiking; top notch triathlon
Leaving to Warmup

white mountains hiking; top notch triathlon
Pre-Start Line Pointing to Drone

white mountains hiking; top notch triathlon
Start Line, Wave 1 of 3, 235 Racers Total

white mountains hiking; top notch triathlon
Finish Line Agony

white mountains hiking; top notch triathlon
Remember the Pain

Top 3 Finishers Results

About bethsrecipes

my recipes
This entry was posted in Peak Bagging the White Mountains, New Hampshire. Bookmark the permalink.