North Tripyramid – January 13, 2014

I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to hike a ridiculously warm winter day today to a peak but had to pick a short one to be home for a mid-afternoon appointment. I hoped the relatively short 8 mile round trip to North Tripyramid would work but I wasn’t so sure because of all the flooding in the White Mountain region due to the massive thaw and rain. I crossed 9 streams that required rock-hopping where some of the rocks were under water – but they were all doable. The tough part was the icy steep section of the Pine Bend Brook Trail and then the very steep, very icy section to the peak. I switched to crampons near the peak – I think it would have been nearly impossible to climb otherwise. I kept my crampons on for the descent of the icy section of the Pine Bend Brook Trail and switched back to microspikes for the stream crossings and back to the car. Wildlife alert: I saw a moose on the ridge – or, more accurately, the rump of a moose as he/she ran away from me on the trail …

Only four more peaks to finish my 48!

white mountains hiking

white mountains hiking

white mountains hiking
Steep and Icy

white mountains hiking
Boulder Scenery at North Tripyramid Peak

white mountains hiking

About bethsrecipes

my recipes
This entry was posted in Peak Bagging the White Mountains, New Hampshire. Bookmark the permalink.