Mount Jackson – November 13, 2013

This unusually cold day brought a relatively short hike to Mount Jackson. The morning temp at the trailhead was 14F as I headed out on the Webster-Jackson Trail. Two to three inches of snow covered the trail most of the way to the top making it more treacherous than deep snow. Snow shoes would not have worked well and the shape of trail rocks were well hidden so each step required careful consideration, not without mistakes. I slipped more than a few times.

Still, the solitude, cold temperatures and beauty were well worth the effort. The snow depth increased toward the peak with at least 6 inches of snow at the peak and far more in snow drifts. Mt Jackson requires some scrambling near the top where the temperature was below 4F and wind at 25mph making a windchill of about -20F.

I attempted to continue on toward Mt Webster but turned back as the trail was so steep (downhill) that I butt-sledded down a good part of the initial trail. I have never done this trail and it was not clearly marked in the snow so I felt the risk was too great as a solo hiker. I turned back and returned the way I came for a 5.25 mile hike.

GPS image

White Mountains Hiking, presidentials

White Mountains Hiking, presidentials

White Mountains Hiking, presidentials

White Mountains Hiking, presidentials
Mount Jackson Peak

White Mountains Hiking, presidentials
Mount Jackson Peak

About bethsrecipes

my recipes
This entry was posted in Peak Bagging the White Mountains, New Hampshire. Bookmark the permalink.