Mounts Pierce, Eisenhower, & Monroe, Nov 9, 2013

Today seemed like a good day to add presidentials to my 48 peak list. The weather was cold but no storms or great winds predicted. I arrived at the Edmand’s Path trailhead off Clinton Rd at 6:45am to drop off my mountain bike and head to the Highland Center to start my solo hike on the Crawford Path. I started out just after 7am yet behind another hiker whose tracks I followed. The upper half of the Crawford Trail required microspikes due to steep sections covered with ice. I caught up with my fellow hiker in time for her to take a picture of me at the summit of Mount Pierce via Webster Cliff Trail. I continued on Crawford Trail toward Mount Eisenhower and took the Mount Eisenhower Loop to the summit. Onward from there to the Mount Monroe Loop trail, up a steep set of boulders to Mount Monroe. From there I backtracked to Edmand’s Path where I returned to my bike and rode the 2.9 miles back to the Highland Center. It was a day to keep moving, winds at the peaks at 25 MPH, wind chill -17 degrees. I hiked 12+ miles plus 3 mile return on mountain bike; returned 2PM, 7 hours.

UPDATE: As it happens, I did not make it to the peak of Mt Monroe. The visibility was low due to snow and cloud cover and though I reached a huge cairn it was not the peak! I discovered this after loading my gps data back home – the last image here.

White Mountains Hiking, presidentials

White Mountains Hiking, presidentials
Peak of Mount Pierce with Eisenhower in the Background

White Mountains Hiking, presidentials

White Mountains Hiking, presidentials
Mount Eisenhower

White Mountains Hiking, presidentials
Rocky Climb to Mount Monroe

White Mountains Hiking, presidentials
Mount Monroe (almost), Wind Chill is – 17F

White Mountains Hiking, presidentials

White Mountains Hiking, presidentials
View of Presidentials After Hiking – Eisenhower Far Right

White Mountains Hiking, presidentials

About bethsrecipes

my recipes
This entry was posted in Peak Bagging the White Mountains, New Hampshire. Bookmark the permalink.