Morena Butte and Los Pinos – April 12, 2013

This solo hike/bike took me first to Morena Butte starting at the Lake Morena County Park. I biked 2.5 miles along the dirt road and Morena Butte Trail then ditched my bike at the PCT and walked the remaining 1.5 miles for a total round trip of 8.5 miles (including the short out-and-back to the dam). Thanks to those who placed ducks along the rocky sections of the trail! I’m adding Morena Butte as a favorite hike.

I had hoped I could cross the Morena dam and pick up the road that would have taken me to Los Pinos peak but no-go on that. The dam is blocked by a gate with “no trespassing signs” and threats to those who disobey. It wasn’t worth it even though there were footprints of many who walk the dam anyway.

I drove around to Corral Canyon Trail, biked Kernan Road to the Espinosa Trail and then along the dirt road to the Los Pinos peak for great views all around then returned along the paved road for a 7.2 mile loop.

white mountains - hiking
Morena Butte

white mountains - hiking

white mountains - hiking
Trail to Peak Across From PCT Signage

white mountains - hiking

white mountains - hiking
My Apologies to the Sleeping Bat Under Flat Rock on Ground

white mountains - hiking
Peak Register

white mountains - hiking
Peak Rock in Register Can From 2011

white mountains - hiking
Los Pinos from Morena Butte Peak

white mountains - hiking
Love This Peak!

white mountains - hiking
Corte Madera From Road to Los Pinos

white mountains - hiking
Los Pinos Tower

white mountains - hiking
Morena Butte Route

white mountains - hiking
Los Pinos Route

About bethsrecipes

my recipes
This entry was posted in Peak Bagging San Diego County. Bookmark the permalink.