Black Mountain #1 – April 10, 2013

Hiking solo forces you to pay attention and be a stickler for details. I started this hike on the wrong forestry road due to conflicting directions to the start. Fortunately I loaded Bob Burd’s map onto my gps and realized his route was the correct one (I thought maybe there was more than one way to the peak from Pamo Valley). After riding uphill for nearly 4 miles and seeing that I was getting farther from Black Mountain I turned around and drove to the other forestry road where Bob B clearly had begun his hike.

I road my mountain bike uphill about 6.3 miles to the turn off to hike to the peak, ditched my bike and walked the remaining mile or so. I could have ridden farther but my legs were fried and I was happy to walk. One of the many nice things about this trip is Pamo Valley itself; a magical and very private place and hope that it remains a relative secret for as long as possible.

white mountains - hiking
Hello From Pamo Valley

white mountains - hiking
Pamo Valley

white mountains - hiking
Black Mountain Peak with Ceanothus in Bloom

white mountains - hiking
View From Black Mountain Peak

white mountains - hiking
A Rose at the Peak

white mountains - hiking
14.4 Mile Route to 4045′ Black Mountain Peak

About bethsrecipes

my recipes
This entry was posted in Peak Bagging San Diego County. Bookmark the permalink.