Pine Mountain – April 3, 2013

I’ll call this hike “Pine Mountain – The Long Way”. My 11 mile hike began with a group of about 17 associated with the Walkabout organization near Pine Valley. I might need to correct some road/trail names but my first shot is to describe the route starting at the intersection of Pine Creek Road and Deer Park Road. We continued uphill along the paved Pine Creek Road, took the Noble Canyon Trail west to north and then Indian Creek Trail north off the NCT almost to the Sunrise Highway. Close to the highway we turned left onto the dirt Pine Mountain Road which took me to the closest point to leave the group and bushwhack my way to the peak of Pine Mountain. The thick brush ended close to the peak where it became meadow-like with beautiful pines and several deer. I did not find any clear indication of the peak other than my GPS giving the expected coordinates and elevation. I continued down the north facing side of the mountain to reconnect to Pine Mountain Road / Deer Park Road back to the car.

white mountains - hiking
Pine Mountain in the Distance

white mountains - hiking
Indian Creek Trail

white mountains - hiking
Pine Mountain Peak

About bethsrecipes

my recipes
This entry was posted in Peak Bagging San Diego County. Bookmark the permalink.