Black Mountain #2 – March 21, 2013

I’ve been to the top of Black Mountain many times but never recorded the date. I chose a longer and more interesting route for this trip where I started from a trailhead on Carmel Mountain Rd at Via Rimini. I thought I’d bike most of this trail but I ended up walking my bike for well over half of it. The trail was steep and overgrown in parts. I was still glad of the bike because I missed a turn on my return trip and ended up a longish distance from the car. The trail was about 5.5 miles and I biked 9 miles on the road to get back to the car for a total trip of 14.5 miles. The adventure gave me a nice view of Black Mountain from every angle as I circled the base.

white mountains - hiking
Black Mountain

white mountains - hiking
Better Part of Initial Trail

white mountains - hiking
Ceanothus in Bloom (California Lilac)

white mountains - hiking
Trail Portion of Hike

white mountains - hiking
Entire Route with Road Loop Around Black Mountain

About bethsrecipes

my recipes
This entry was posted in Peak Bagging San Diego County. Bookmark the permalink.