Eagle Crag – SD Hiking – February 17, 2013

Ten of us started out on this chilly Southern California morning for a Sierra Club hike to Eagle Crag, a 5077 foot peak in the Agua Tibia Wilderness just east of Temecula. The hike was originally planned to be a 19 mile out-and-back but the access road to the trailhead was closed. We hiked the much longer, ~25 mile plan B option. We began from the Dripping Springs Campground and climbed 7 miles along the Dripping Springs Trail to the Magee-Palomar Trail. Another approximately 5 miles brought us to the required steep uphill bushwhack and to the spectacular peak of Eagle Crag. It may be that I will learn how to find a peak here in Southern California but I must say, with my limited experience here, I wouldn’t have found this one on my own.

My camera broke and fellow hikers helped me to use my cell phone for pics. The quality speaks for itself …

white mountains - hiking
Approaching Eagle Crag

white mountains - hiking
Climb Toward Peak

white mountains - hiking
Hike Leaders Wayne and Bill at Summit

white mountains - hiking

white mountains - hiking
Rocky Peak with 1000 Foot Drop

white mountains - hiking
13 Miles to Peak, 13 More to Go!

About bethsrecipes

my recipes
This entry was posted in Peak Bagging San Diego County. Bookmark the permalink.