Wildcats – February 6, 2013

I snuck this hike in while I was in the area for the international dinner at Joe Dodge Lodge. I chose to pay the $10 and use the ski trail to start. It was really quite fun because lots downhill skiers and snowboarders stopped to chat – one decided that I was “crazy”. Can’t disagree with that though not sure strapping a surfboard onto ones feet on a steep, snowy trail is all that sane! I did make one wrong turn on the ski trail and was accosted by the ski patrol. That said, there is not one sign going up that hill to let hikers know which trail they are on (come on, Wildcat, how about using some of those $10 fees to put up a sign or two!)

I reached the top of Wildcat D in beautiful, snowy conditions and started out on the very deserted Wildcat Ridge Trail. One of the skiers warned me that it is a difficult trail to follow in dense woods. The woods are dense but that makes the trail not so hard to see – plus I had the benefit of following animal tracks (fox?). I don’t know the ski trail distance but the total hike time for me was 4 hours 25 minutes out to Wildcat Mountain and back.

white mountains - hiking
Wildcat Mountain Ski Area

white mountains - hiking
It’s snowing!

white mountains - hiking
Catnap Trail – oops!

white mountains - hiking

white mountains - hiking
Peak Wildcat D

white mountains - hiking
Following Tracks

white mountains - hiking

white mountains - hiking
View of Carter Dome From Vista Near Wildcat Mountain Peak

About bethsrecipes

my recipes
This entry was posted in Peak Bagging the White Mountains, New Hampshire. Bookmark the permalink.