Mt Hale & Nor’easter – Feb 8, 2013

I started early for this 9 mile solo hike to beat the charge of the big nor’easter. Despite my intentions, the snow and wind intensified throughout the hike. The 2.5 mile Zealand Road is closed in winter so my hike started at the parking lot of Route 302 in Twin Mountain. I used microspikes along Zealand and part way up the Hale Brook Trail then switched to crampons because I could not see the slippery ice just under the 2-4 inches of accumulated snow. It wasn’t long before snowshoes were appropriate but there is a section of this trail that is so narrow with a ledge drop-off that I didn’t dare use snowshoes. I reached the peak in just under three hours – a bit slower than my usual pace probably because of multiple stops to make gear and clothing changes. I put on the snowshoes on the return trip as soon as I passed by the narrow ledge. How wonderful to walk in snowshoes on fresh snow powder!

white mountains - hiking

white mountains - hiking
Snow Accumulating Quickly

white mountains - hiking
Mount Hale Peak

white mountains - hiking
Looking Back on Snowshoe Tracks on Zealand Road Return Trip

About bethsrecipes

my recipes
This entry was posted in Peak Bagging the White Mountains, New Hampshire. Bookmark the permalink.