Mount Liberty – February 5, 2013

The predicted weather today was for very cold temperatures and it was darned cold, about -1F when I left Landaff, but the clear blue sky and sunshine that come with cold temps made this hike memorable. I started out at the Basin Parking area, solo, at 9 AM and walked to the Liberty Spring Trail via the bike path. I wore microspikes for the trip up but should have switched to crampons near the top where the trail became steep with some near-vertical icy areas. I slipped several times before reaching the peak where wind was 11 mph according to my anemometer. It’s amazing to me how much this light wind can cool you down! I had the pleasure today of hiking on unbroken trail, or at least no visible footprints, nearer the top and I do love that experience. I dropped down just below the rocks at the peak and strapped on those crampons for the descent back down the same trail and back to the car with total hike time of 4.5 hours for 8 miles.

white mountains - hiking

white mountains - hiking
Unbroken, Pristine Path to Summit

white mountains - hiking
View of Franconia Notch, Cannon Mountain and Cannon Balls

white mountains - hiking
Mount Liberty Peak

white mountains - hiking
View of Mount Washington in the Distance

white mountains - hiking
Mounts Lincoln and Lafayette

About bethsrecipes

my recipes
This entry was posted in Peak Bagging the White Mountains, New Hampshire. Bookmark the permalink.