Mount Garfield – February 2, 2013

I solo hiked this 12.5 mile trip today hoping to catch up to some friends that left earlier in the morning. I was stymied at the first brook crossing and started back to the car not willing to risk crossing this fast-moving, ice-filled brook by myself. Fortunately I met up with two hikers and followed them back up the trail where the woman of the couple knew about the snowmobile bridge upstream. I bushwhacked with them to the bridge and was on my way (if I had read the correct trail description I would have known about this bridge! And, it turns out, there is a second bridge where hikers can safely cross the second stream as well – the three of us missed that one though it is in sight of the first bridge).

The summit was cold and windy but gorgeous with 360 degree views. I’ll plan to hike this again in summer when I can spend time at the summit and take in the views. It will also be a shorter hike without having to walk the additional 2.5 miles on the closed-in-winter Gale River Loop Road.

white mountains - hiking

white mountains - hiking
View from Mount Garfield Peak

white mountains - hiking
Fire Tower Foundation Remains at Garfield Peak

white mountains - hiking
View from Mount Garfield Peak

white mountains - hiking
Canadian Jay Looking for a Handout

white mountains - hiking

white mountains - hiking

About bethsrecipes

my recipes
This entry was posted in Peak Bagging the White Mountains, New Hampshire. Bookmark the permalink.