Mount Washington – September 28, 2012

I was determined to do Mt Washington before I leave for California. My plan was to hike it yesterday but the prediction for high winds coupled with a discussion about high winds on a local hiking forum made me change my mind. I decided today was the day despite a prediction of rain, sleet and possible snow later in the day. Solo hiking seems to be becoming a habit. My sister sent me an email asking “Do you want your body retrieved or just to become one with the mountain?” Har, har.

I started the hike in the semi-dark at 6:10AM up the Ammonoosuc Ravine Trail – gorgeous views and highly recommend this trail as an ascent! I reached Mt Washington peak at 9AM with a short visit inside. I hiked down the Jewell Trail which was a relatively easy grade for the White Mountains and reached my car 7 hours later and a short 1/2 hour after the heavy rain started.

mount washington, new hampshire
Gorgeous Views from Ammonoosuc Ravine Trail

mount washington, new hampshire
First Sight of Mount Washington

mount washington, new hampshire
Crawford Path to Mt Washington

mount washington, new hampshire
Famous Warning

mount washington, new hampshire
Lake of the Clouds Hut with Mount Monroe

mount washington, new hampshire
Approaching Mt Wash Peak

mount washington, new hampshire
Mt Washington Peak

mount washington, new hampshire
Cog Railway Track on Return Trip via Jewell Trail

mount washington, new hampshire
Mounts Jefferson, Adams, Madison? …

mount washington, new hampshire
I could hear it but had to move quickly to capture it – Cog Railway Train

mount washington, new hampshire
Clouds Move in on Mt Wash

About bethsrecipes

my recipes
This entry was posted in Peak Bagging the White Mountains, New Hampshire. Bookmark the permalink.