Zealand Mountain and the Bonds, September 23, 2012

I had the Bonds to myself on this gorgeous fall day. The trip was supposed to be an AMC hike with 6-7 of us. Unfortunately the hike leader and co-leader had emergencies and had to formally cancel the hike. No other hikers showed up so I hiked it solo. It was a cool, damp start from rain the night before.

The 20 mile out-and-back trip took me past the Zealand Falls Hut where breakfast was in progress and I took in a minute or two of a funny skit put on by the croo. Several people coming from Guyot Tentsite were hiking back down as I headed up. Not much to see at Zealand other than a pile of rocks surrounded by trees! I didn’t see another soul and I appreciated the solitude as I traveled to West Bond, Bond and Bondcliff.

While eating lunch on Bondcliff I saw hikers on top of West Bond so I knew I wouldn’t be alone the remainder of the day. I hiked the return trip with sore knees but still managed an easy jog on my last 2 miles out. I was ready to be home! Hike time: 10 hours, 20 minutes.

white mountain bond mountains hike
Gorgeous Ponds Along Zealand Trail

white mountain bond mountains hike
Zealand Falls Hut Breakfast Skit

white mountain bond mountains hike
Zealand Mountain Spur

white mountain bond mountains hike
Zealand Mountain

white mountain bond mountains hike
View of Mt Bond and West Bond

white mountain bond mountains hike
Fall Colors

white mountain bond mountains hike
West Bond Spur Trail

white mountain bond mountains hike
West Bond

white mountain bond mountains hike
Mt Bond

white mountain bond mountains hike
Fall Colors

white mountain bond mountains hike
Bondcliff from Mt Bond

white mountain bond mountains hike
Bondcliff

white mountain bond mountains hike
Galehead from Bondcliff

About bethsrecipes

my recipes
This entry was posted in Peak Bagging the White Mountains, New Hampshire. Bookmark the permalink.