Mount Carrigain – September 20, 2012

My solo 10 mile out-and-back hike plus the travel distance along Sawyer River Rd from Rte 302 brought the most gorgeous views of the Whites and beyond that I have ever seen. I’m sure the cool, fall weather with low humidity helped. I’ve never timed myself on a hike until today where the total hike time on the Signal Ridge trail to Carrigain Peak and back plus a 40 minute “lunch” (I forgot my lunch but had a bag of M&Ms) was 5 hours, 40 minutes. The only challenge was the river crossing over Carrigain Brook where the water was very high. I made it with some precarious balancing on barely-above-water rocks and logs. Hot chili and a chocolate chip cookie at the Highland Center never tasted so good on my return trip home.

white mountain signal ridge trail
High Water at Carrigain Brook

white mountain signal ridge trail
Typical Signal Ridge Trail

white mountain signal ridge trail
View of Mt Wash from Trail Close to Peak

white mountain signal ridge trail
Water Well on Signal Ridge Trail

white mountain signal ridge trail
View of Fire Tower

white mountain signal ridge trail
Fire Tower at Mount Carrigain Peak

white mountain signal ridge trail
Franconia Ridge in the Distance from the Fire Tower

About bethsrecipes

my recipes
This entry was posted in Peak Bagging the White Mountains, New Hampshire. Bookmark the permalink.